On Tues., March 26, the sixth annual NY Acker Awards will once again honor some of the
best and brightest local contributors to the Downtown arts community.

Among this year’s diverse group of recipients are
film directors Larry Fessenden and Beck Underwood

Produced by documentarian Clayton Patterson, the Acker Awards recognize
avant-garde artists, writers, musicians and community organizers
that enliven the Downtown arts scene. While the event’s name pays homage
to the late feminist writer Kathy Acker, it’s also an archaic Dutch word that means
“a visible current in a river.”

Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Theater For The New City,
155 First Ave.
Doors Open 6 program starts 7 PM

Creator Producer:  Clayton Patterson

MC: Phoebe Legere

Entertainment: Gryphon Rue, Keith Patchel

Life Time Achievement: Theater for the New City – Crystal Fields & Jan Herman editor, writer, blogger

Candy Darling Award:Cynthia Carr writer, historian, intellectual. Presented by Ruby Lynn Reyner.

Art: Alexandra Rojas, Brigitte Engler, Carol Ann Braddock, Linus Brant, Mimi Gross, Andrew Castrucci & gallery, Marty Martin & community support.

Theater: Susan Cook playwright Susan Cook playwright, Vit Horejs puppetry & producer, Melba LaRose.

Performance:  John Kelly & art, Anne Lobst & Lucy Sexton Dancenoise.

Film:Larry Fessington director & producer,  Beck Underwood producer & animation, Tessa Huges & curator. Jacob Burckhardt, Tom Jarmusch.

 Venue Erez Ziv theater, Trigger Smith music, Liberrad Guerra culture creative director.

Historic Preservation:Andrew Berman.

Music:Chris Iconicide & documenting, Jesse Malin & venue, Josh Wilson & mentor, Power Malu & community support, Johnny Velardi & art, curator.

Writer: Bonnie Sue Stein writer/producer, David Herskovitz writer/publisher, Michael Carter, Brian Belovitch. Lee Ann Brown Poetry,

Photography: Efrain Gonzalez.

Community Support:Lilah Mejia

Jewelry: Spencer Fujimoto & skateboarding, community.

Director/curator: Ted Riederer & artist.

Skateboarding: Alex Corporan& marketing, event planner, community. 

Tattoo artist: Tommy Houlihan & studio, Baba Austin & studio.

Posthumous Awards Cups: Anthony Zito Adela Fargas, Joe Heaps, Harry Smith, Brian Butterick, Herbert Huncke, Ira Cohen, Charles Gatewood, Louis Cartright, Matty Jankowski, Philly Abe, Lionel Ziprin, Boris Lurie, Al Orensanz, Bill Heine, Bill Salmon, Konstantin K. Kusminski  Thom deVita, Rev. R.O. Tyler.

Video: Brian Neff, Alicia Angel  & 360 photography:  Roman Dubchak, RoyalZ